Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Municipal filing slated Feb. 4–6

January 27, 2019 - 00:00
Posted in:

The filing period for Kingfisher County municipal positions will be held from Monday, Feb. 4, through Wednesday, Feb. 6, at the Kingfisher County Election Board office at the courthouse in Kingfisher.

County Election Board Secretary Shawna Butts said declarations of candidacy will be accepted from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day. Nonpartisan municipal elections will be held Tuesday, April 2, for Kingfisher, Dover, Hennessey and Okarche.

Additionally townwide meetings will be held on April 2 to nominate and elect trustees at Cashion and Loyal.

Positions up for election at municipalities holding elections include:

Kingfisher – city commissioner, fouryear term, Wendell Prim, incumbent.

Dover – three trustees for four-year terms, incumbents are Brian Chestnut, Sheila Holmes and Mike Walters.

Hennessey – three trustees for four year terms: Mike Shaw, Clifford Vogt and Bert Gritz, incumbents, and town clerk for four-year term: Tiffany Tillman, incumbent.

Okarche – two trustees for four-year terms: Ward 1, Mike Mendel, incumbent, and Ward 3, Linda Miller, incumbent, and town clerk (four-year term), Dana Reese, incumbent.

At the town meeting at Loyal on April 2 the positions of trustee, Jim Savage, incumbent; mayor, John Schlegel, incumbent, and treasurer, Dorothy Glazier, incumbent, all four-year terms, will be up for election.

At the Cashion town meeting, the following positions will be up for election: Place 1, Brad Stone, incumbent; Place 3, vacant, and place 4, Brad Morrissey, incumbent, will be up for election.

Candidates do not file by political office for municipal positions, which are nonpartisan.

Kingfisher incumbent Prim has told the Times and Free Press he will seek re-election.

In Hennessey, Gritz, Vogt and Tillman have said they will run, while Shaw said he’s unsure.

Shaw currently serves as mayor and Gritz is vice mayor, titles which are conferred by vote of the town board.

Vogt was appointed to the board last January to replace Raymond Kerby, who resigned to spend more time with family.