Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Hunt and Simunek chosen top Eagle, Lady Eagle athletes

June 21, 2020 - 00:00
Posted in:
  • Hunt and Simunek chosen top Eagle, Lady Eagle athletes
  • Hunt and Simunek chosen top Eagle, Lady Eagle athletes
    Brysn Hunt and Skye Simunek

Brysn Hunt and Skye Simunek won the top Eagle and Lady Eagle senior awards in sports for 2019-20.

The honors were announced during a virtual announcement recently on the Hennessey Public School website.

Both also received scholarships from the All-Sports Association and were honored by coaches in their sports.

Hunt, the son of Gerry Hunt and Angela Avila, played both football and basketball and was a valedictorian.

Simunek, the daughter of Rob and Kristi Simunek, played basketball and fastpitch softball and earned a gold academic cord.

Seniors must play in two or more sports to qualify for the awards.

Coaches also announced these winners (all are seniors unless otherwise noted):

Football – MVP, Brysn Hunt; Leadership, Yosbith Fierro, and Most Improved, Rob Mier.

Girls Basketball – MVP, Skye Simunek; Pride Award, Meagan Tillman, and Leadership, Macee Smith.

Boys Basketball – Best All-Around, Angel Rodriquez; Mr. Intangible, Brysn Hunt, and “Awesome” Five Years, Kenley Wyrick.

Fastpitch Softball – Leadership, Skye Simunek.

Baseball – Dirt Bag Award, Gage Zelnicek.

Girls Track – Eagle Spirit Award, Ana Gonzalez; All-Star Manager, Katie Pearson.

Boys Track – MVP, Arturo Sanchez, and Eagle Spirit Award, Alejandro Ortega (discus).

Girls Cross Country – MVP, Tori Tarango (junior) and Most Improved, Jamie Torres (freshman).

Boys Cross Country – Eagle Spirit Award, Arturo Sanchez, and MVP, Noah Moery (junior).

Volleyball – Most Improved, Breanna Williams; Miss Hustle, Abigail Hobson; Miss Versatile, Katie Pearson; Miss Consistent, Stephanie Dominguez; Miss Clutch, Christina Rameriz; Miss Persistent, Kaleigh Schaefer; Miss Athlete, Amber Lara; Miss Fighter, Jenny Duran, and Miss About Time, Williams.

Cheerleaders – Leadership, Katie Pearson, and Most Improved, Kaleigh Schaefer; also recognized by grades, Kayla Wyrick (freshman); Madison Vaverka (sophomore), and Vanessa Alaniz (junior).