Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

West, Myers, Glover named as part of OCA Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    West, Myers, Glover named as part of OCA Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Among the 10 people to be inducted into the Oklahoma Coaches Association Hall of Fame this summer, three have local ties. This year’s incoming

This year’s incoming class includes Ray West, Jeff Myers and David Glover. West, who passed away

West, who passed away in August 2019, spent the largest part of his 45-year basketball coaching career at Okarche.

He won 554 games in 25 seasons with the Warriors and took them to state 11 times.

In all, West won 853 games, which is second alltime among boys coaches in Oklahoma history.

Myers has been the Kingfisher High School head football coach for 16 years.

Since taking over the KHS program in 2004, he’s led the Jackets to a school-record 162 wins. That includes making the playoffs all 16 seasons and winning at least one playoff game 15 times.

The Jackets have reached a state championship game five times under Myers, including the 2013 state championship.

Glover is a one-time Okarche superintendent who now works for the OSSAA while living in Kingfisher.

Of his 22 years coaching basketball, 21 were spent as a head coach.

He was an assistant one year at Woodward before coaching seven years in Okeene and then 14 at Fairview.

He coached both boys and girls at Woodward and Okeene and then led the Fairview girls program while being an assistant for the boys.

Glover won more than 350 games during his career.

The OCA Hall of Fame induction ceremony and banquet will be at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, July 25, at the Southern Hills Marriott in Tulsa. Other coaching induct

Other coaching inductees will include Steve Edwards of Glenpool, Kyle

Fowler of Spiro, Phil Ingersoll of Oklahoma City Public Schools, Gary Looper of Bishop McGuinness, Steve Patterson of Union and Jenks and Jerry Walker of Fort Gibson. Bill Young of OSU will be inducted for “distinguished service.”